Up Up and (Give)Away!!!

Practicing My Superhero Moves!!

Constantly Learning
Wow, the past week and a half has been enough to show me that if I don’t exercise, I kind of fall into a deep hole (I’ve fallen into a deep hole and I can’t get up!) of just sitting all day at my computer feeling achy, depressed, irritable and antsy. It all started when my knee started hurting from running. I did have to take a break from running, but I didn’t have to take a break from ALL exercise. I didn’t have to stop watching my food intake either, but I’ve done that to a certain extent too.

Enough beating myself up. I need to start doing some positive self talk! I loved Stephanie Hamm’s (@fitmomintraining) post “Flexing Your Mental Mamaguns” about how we tend to talk about ourselves in negative ways and how that really is a recipe for failure. You can check out her post to find out some strategies to STOP! I have to go read it again and again because the negative self doubt is there full force right now. (See Pete Cohen’s video about shutting the duck up here. I would like to give the duck a karate chop to the beak!)

Something within me—or perhaps a combination of knowing exercise will make me feel better and the contact I have daily with people on the healthy and fit track—is urging my brain to listen to my body and GET OUT THERE AND MOVE. One of the people I feel quite inspired by is Carla (@MizFitOnline) from MizFitOnline.com. She is fit, healthy both mentally and physically, has great arms and is a great role model for what I’d like to be physically. It’s not just her body, it’s also her philosophy on clean eating, her drive and her sense of humor. You should definitely check her out if you haven’t already.

Here’s Carla wearing one of her tanks! She is hot!

MizFit

She also has tees that say “I Love Myself” and “Unapologetically Myself.” I want to have that attitude again, just need to get there. I’m going to get outside later today even if it is for a 30-minute walk, then, once I get all of your comments, I’m going to buy myself one of these tees as part of my positive self talk campaign!

Mizfit's I Heart Myself Tee

But YOU don’t have to buy a shirt! You can win one! I’m so excited to announce that I will be giving away a MizFitOnlineI am my own superhero” t-shirt on my blog! This motto really hit me because I think a lot of us have looked outward for someone to save us or tell us how to live our lives and when you get to the point where you realize your own power, you want to shout it out to the world (from the stern of a cruise boat that’s about to crash into a huge iceberg)! It kicks ass too. I will get back to that place.

I will be giving away a t-shirt or tank top, kindly donated by @MizFitOnline!! I’m so excited because I love her blog and the message she sends.

ENTER!

Mandatory entries

  1. Follow @middleagedjock on Twitter, and come back here and tell me you did. Or if you already follow me, just leave a comment saying that.
  2. Who is your hero? Leave a comment about your superhero. It can be yourself too!

Extra Entries

(Please LEAVE COMMENTS FOR EACH ENTRY. For instance,  if the task is for 3 entries, please leave 3 separate comments)

  1. Follow @mizfitonline on Twitter. (1 entry)
  2. Subscribe to Middle-Aged Jock via email on the sidebar. (3 entries)
  3. Tweet this: “I am my own superhero and I want @MizFitOnline’s tee to tell the world! I entered giveaway! http://tinyurl.com/3287yt7” (1 entry) Please leave a link to your tweet. You can tweet once a day for extra entries. Make sure you leave a comment each time.
  4. Leave a comment telling me why you love yourself! I’ll respond to these comments with why I love YOU. Even if I don’t know you, I’ll find something to love. Don’t be afraid! (1 entry)
  5. Go to @MizFitOnline’s store and tell me which is your favorite t-shirt or tank top! (1 entry)
  6. Check out Stephanie’s blog post on Flexing Your Mental Mamaguns and leave a comment. (3 entries)
  7. Go to this contest and tell them Greta from MiddleAgedJock sent you. You also will be entered to win a different giveaway! (2 entries)
  8. Tell me which t-shirt or tank you think I should buy from MizFitOnline’s store. I will buy the one that gets the most votes! (2 entries)
  9. Enter the Kodak Gallery Photo Book $50 Gift Certificate Giveaway on Bookieboo! (3 entries)

Good luck!!!

Tees and tanks come in women’s (S-XXL), men’s (S-XXL) and children’s sizes (XS-L)!

Contest ends on November 5th at 9 PM EST. The winner will be picked via random.org and I will post winner by October 31st at 12 noon EST.

This entry was posted in Giveaways and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Up Up and (Give)Away!!!

  1. MizFit says:

    You rock.
    You make me smile.
    You made my weekend last…weekend (week? I was traveling and discombob’ed. Lets say week).

    you, my middleagedjockfriend, ROCK.

  2. WHOO! I’m a follower on twitter!

  3. Super hero… Must I pick only one?

    I have to say Roxanna Jolly. (Taboo2Fabu) That girl.. is absolutely amazing! Not only is she a mom, student, foster mom, working lady, volunteer, friend, etc., but she’s got such a motivational and inspirational spirit. I ❤ her.

    I also want to say that these days, I'm really seeing the true colors of Rachel Lacy. I knew that she was an awesome, smart, beautiful person, inside and out, but I didn't realize just HOW much she has influenced the choices I've made in my life lately. She's truly awesome.

    Then of course, the unspoken hero, Pete! 🙂

  4. I follow mizfitonline 🙂

  5. SUbscribed via email 🙂 1.

  6. SUbscribed via email 🙂 2.

  7. Rachael @brooklyn_1012 says:

    I already follow u. My hero is Jillian Michaels. She’s a fearless fitness female – just like me 🙂 Enter me puhleaaaase.

  8. SUbscribed via email 🙂 3.

  9. Tweeeeet Tweeeet.. Rockin Robin!

  10. I love myself because …. ( this should be worth more entries, hahaha it’s hard!)

    I love myself because …. I am doing the best I can for my family.

  11. My mom is my hero because she is amazingly strong (mentally & emotionally) and has walked a life of faith without wavering spite of life’s crap. She’s a wonderful woman & I want to be like her when I grow up!

  12. I TOTALLY left a comment on Steph’s post! That was AWESOME! 🙂

  13. I follow @mizfitonline and I big puffy heart her!

  14. I TOTALLY left a comment on Steph’s post! That was AWESOME! 🙂 2

  15. I TOTALLY left a comment on Steph’s post! That was AWESOME! 🙂 3

  16. I tweeted

  17. I told them you sent me 🙂

  18. told them you sent me 2

  19. I really like the unapologetically myself kiddos tees

  20. I”m fairly sure you’re going to end up with the one with the d*rty word in it! 🙂 HOWEVER, I would vote for unapologetically myself vneck

  21. I would vote for unapologetically myself vneck 2

  22. LyndawithaY says:

    I’m following you on Twitter. I tweeted the line about MizFit t-shirt. I like the “unapologetically myself,” shirt or the I heart me tank. I love myself because I have a great sense of humor.

  23. LyndawithaY says:

    tweeted about contest using @LyndawithY

  24. LyndawithaY says:

    as mentioned before, I think you should buy the I heart me tank

  25. LyndawithaY says:

    I love myself for my sense of humor

  26. LyndawithaY says:

    I follow you on twitter

  27. I love myself because …. I am strong and I am going to ROCK my 5k on Saturday!!!

  28. Carla says:

    I follow you on twitter

  29. Carla says:

    I tweeted

  30. Carla says:

    I love my self because I have a good sense of humor and a smile on my face.

  31. Pingback: Giveaway Update! |

  32. I already stalk you on Twitter!

    Don’t be afraid 🙂

  33. My hero(es)

    My trainer who has become my friend and shown me that with hard work anything is possible.

    My friend Darcy who get up and meets me at the gym at 5a three days a week for boxing class.

    My husband Mitch who despite all his internal demons he too is finding his own way on his weight loss journey.

  34. oh totally been stalking Miz, for a while now.

  35. I love myself because even with all the bad roads traveled over the last 40 years I am on the right path to living my life to the fullest. I don’t know quite what that means just yet but it sure has been a hell of a lot of fun figuring it out.

  36. my favorite tee is the “I am my own superhero”

  37. You should get the I am my own superhero shirt…

    Or the hoodie cause hoodies pretty much rock it!

  38. Pingback: Mamavation Monday November 1, 2010 |

  39. My hero’s are anyone that stand up and say “I can…I will…I am” and then kick some serious bum!

  40. Totally love MizFits Unapologetically myself!

  41. I think you should get the same one! #1

  42. I think you should get the same one ! #2

  43. I wrote the Mamaguns post..does that count?

  44. And I won the $50 gift card…does that count too 🙂

Leave a Reply

