Mamavation Monday – September 12, 2010

Well, hello there! It’s been a good week. The weight loss isn’t showing because I’ve been eating lots of salty foods the past couple of days. It will come though, of that I’m sure. Some updates:

“Celebrate what you’ve accomplished, but raise the bar a little higher each time you succeed.” —Mia Hamm

Duathlon Training
I have a great schedule put together thanks to Steph (@fitmomtraining) from fitmomintraining.com, Janice (@fitcheerldr) from fitnesscheerleader.com, @rachelsteffen from Running Rachel and my awesome Belarusian cycling coach, Yahor! Here’s what I did this week:

Monday – Ran 37 min. – 5K
Tuesday – Biked 41 min easy to medium
Wednesday – Yoga/physical therapy
Thursday – Biked 45 min, steady path with 5-7 intervals of 15 sec ea w/1-2 min rest in between, Post Athletic Stretch Routine for Cycling by Yoga Tune Up
Friday – Off/stretching/physical therapy
Saturday – Run 35 min speed work (steep hill, 5 min warm up, sprint up and down hill for 15 min., easy run for 15 min.), Post Athletic Stretch for Running by Yoga Tune Up.
Sunday – Still to do – Bike 75 min, intervals on flat road, increase time to 20 sec, 5-7 times, 1-2 min rest between. PT exercises. (DONE!)

Schedule for this week:
Monday – Off/yoga
Tuesday – Run 40 flat – DONE!
Wednesday – Bike 60, run 20 min (easy), PT appt. DONE!
Thursday – Off/yoga or stretching
Friday – Run 20, bike 30, run 10, PT exercises DONE!
Saturday – Run 35 min DONE! 3.06 miles
Sunday – Bike 75, PT exercises

I am sort of dreading the duathlon. I really didn’t give myself enough time to train after the 5K, but I’m going to do the training that I have planned for the next 2 weeks and see what happens. I will finish it and then learn what to do differently next time. Here’s the map of the duathalon for those of you who didn’t see it last week.

Weight, Food, Water and All that Jazz
I did well for the first 4-5 days of the week with food and water. I think past 4 days is when I start to fall apart with it. I didn’t lose so far this week, but I think until the duathlon, I am just going to try to eat healthy and not go crazy with sugar. We’ll see how that goes! I know I need to drink a lot in order to stay healthy and hydrated for the exercise.

Sista of the Week!
I love this gal! She’s tough, cute, fun, supportive, and she’s got these amazing guns!!

Mama Guns Steph!

She is also the Mama Guns Motivator for Mamavation and will be leading the Mama Guns Buff n’ Tuff Challenge, whipping us all into shape with weight training for 8 weeks. Everyone will commit to 30-45 minutes of weight training 3-4 days a week. Check it out here. I would love to do this challenge, but I’m not sure I can given the state of my shoulder. Will consider putting a pic up of my noodle arm that I can barely lift high enough to take a “guns” pic. Good luck to the rest of you!

And since @bookieboo Leah is too busy with my boyfriend, Pete Cohen, we don’t know who the sponsor of Mamavation TV is yet. Stay tuned!! ‘

As Comment Warrior, I would like to remind you that you get extra entries into the Mamavation Monday TV giveaway for each comment you make on a Sista’s Monday blog post. Also, it makes us feel loved to read comments that show that you read our posts and care enough to say something!

Mamavation Moms Campaign
So excited to see who applies, who gets through to the voting stage and who gets to be a Mamavation Mom next! Here are the instructions on how to apply. The applications and videos will be accepted from September 27 to October 6. This is an amazing opportunity to have resources to lose weight and get healthy. I don’t even think you need to have 100 pounds to lose. As long as you’re compelling and have some goals in mind, you should apply!

Question of the Week
What are your fitness goals? I love the idea of having an event to train for. Would you like to sign up for an event on Halloween or Thanksgiving morning? I am going to be doing 5Ks on both days and you have enough time to start training now for a 5K using Couch to 5K to either walk or run a 5K either time. Join me!! You can do this. Anyone can.

Unrelated but happy news, my son is starting preschool on Tuesday! Here is a picture from the “Pick a Cubby” day that we went to on Friday with him.

Little Bean at Pick a Cubby day!

This entry was posted in Mamavation. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Mamavation Monday – September 12, 2010

  1. mozzie76 says:

    I admire your courage doing triathlons and duathalons. You are a remarkable woman! AND your son is adorable. 🙂 Have an AWESOME week!

  2. gretablau says:

    Thanks! I haven’t done a tri yet, but I would like to next year. Shoulder issues.

  3. Leah @bookieboo says:

    You make me laugh. I’m actually deciding between two sponsors…eenie meenie miney mo….Lol…I’ll have the post up later today when I have wireless at hotel. Xxoo

  4. you are so active always! I swear I will try a tri someday. First, I must master the 5K! 🙂

    Have a great week!

    • gretablau says:

      Are you training for the 5K? Cool!! I’m sure that you’ve posted about it but I’m having a hard time keeping everyone straight right now. Ha.

  5. amanda says:

    Look at you go!! You are an amazing inspiration to me!

    Your little boy is adorable! I hope he enjoys pre-school!

    Your schedule looks good, have a great week!!

  6. mkopp1 says:

    Wow! You are a training machine!! Inspiring schedule you have, I can’t wait to hear more! Hope your little guy enjoys preschool! Keep up the great work!!!

  7. Renee says:

    I love your training schedule. i know you are going to do well in the event.And how cute is your little one? 🙂

  8. Rachel says:

    Love it! You are a rock star!!

    My fitness goals are to: run a complete FULL marathon; do a tri; and run a ride-n-tie with my BIL/SIL! 🙂 Fun stuff! 🙂

    Yeah for preschool! My oldest LOVES going to school – but he is so tired when he comes home! 🙂

    Have a fantastic week!!

    HUGS
    Rachel
    http://www.runningrachel.com

    **The finish line is just the beginning of a whole new race. -Unknown**

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks, baby!! I think that I’m going to have to do a marathon. I need to figure out why my stamina is just soooo low. I mean, is it really just about keeping at it and you get better? I just am SLOW as hell and have never been a great runner, but I’m going to keep at it!! Thanks for the encouragement and inspiration!

  9. Debra says:

    First time visitor here… my fitness goals are to get myself down into a size large/12. Right now I am in an XL, barely, and think in another 30 to 35 pounds I should be there. I have an approximate weight I *think* I’ll be at that point, and my BMI will read normal instead of obese. I’m about 6 pounds from being in the overweight category now.

    • gretablau says:

      Welcome, Debra!! I was in that place at one point too, waiting just to get into the “overweight” category instead of “obese.” I certainly didn’t FEEL obese. Baby steps. I’m now down to a healthy range and honestly don’t even remember being 50 pounds heavier than I am now! It seems almost impossible! You can totally do it!! Are you exercising?

  10. 5K in 37 mins is pretty awesome! I know I am impressed! I ran @ the gym twice last week… managed to crank out 2 miles in 26.5minutes… so like a 4.5mph pace… egh… I’m trying! haha!

    Thanks for all the love last week! Good luck with all those workouts this week hun!

  11. Your training schedule looks awesome! I absolute LOVE my 5k training schedule! I love the motivation of the race, my first race!! I haven’t even run it yet and I’m looking for my next one!

    Wonder what it is about 4-5 days of eating well that makes you fall of the wagon? Hmmmm…. I’ve taken too make psych courses and want to figure this out!

    Anyway, have a great week!

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks, Heather. What is your schedule for the 5K? After I do the duathlon, I will take a few days off but then I need to start training for the Halloween 5K. Are you trying to improve speed?

      I’m sure there must be something to the 4-5 days. Maybe I’m ADD. Who knows. Let me know when you have the answer!!

  12. lorrie says:

    thats an awesome workout schedule you have i still need to work on mine. hope you have a great week. currently I am working toward getting down to below 200 only 16 more lbs to go.

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks, Lorrie – do you have any physical goals apart from weight loss? (Yes!! under 200 is in reach! WOOHOO!!!) I know everyone is different, but it works for me to have an event to train for. Also helps to start feeling llike an athlete and looking at food as fuel instead of whatever it has been for us all these years. If you need help with your schedule, we’re all here to help!

  13. randomrebecca says:

    I wish I had your determination!

    I am doing an event halloween though, and I think we talked on twitter about costumes… I found mine! FAIRY WINGS! I think it’ll be fun, and I’m looking forward to comparing notes!

    • gretablau says:

      Oh yes!! I keep thinking what I can dress up as!! I asked my son and he said “A ball” Might be hard to run dressed as a ball! Fairy wings sound nice.

  14. Rachel S. is right . . . you ARE a rockstar! That schedule is amazing . . . have you always been this active or is it a new stage in life?

    Looking forward to being on the show with you tonight!

    • gretablau says:

      Aw thanks!! I wish I had the same video presence you have! I’ve been athletic on and off since elementary school but I’ve taken HUGE breaks and at one point was up to 185! I’m 50 pounds lighter now. Well give or take 3 pounds. Mostly give. Ha ha. I have always loved competition, exercise, feeling healthy, but there have been times in my life when I’ve been very unhealthy! I smoked for 17 years and then quit 10 years ago. Still realy hoping I can step it up and be much more healthy in the coming years. !

  15. Amanda O says:

    you are doing so great adn wonderful. tahnk you for being an inspireation to all the mamavation ladies!

  16. You’re going to do great with your duathlon. I know the nerves but believe me when I say that you’re training will get you through. I can’t wait to hear about your day and the high you’re going to feel when you cross the finish line! Whoop!

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks, Steph. I will do my best, I know that!! I totally trust the training. I wish I had another 4 weeks, but I don’t!! I will def post a race report!

  17. Angela says:

    Wow! What a work out routine. Keep up the good work.

  18. kia says:

    Your duathlon training seems fun and definitely chill this week. Have fun and make sure you hydrate with that salt lick you seem to be working on.

    • gretablau says:

      Chill? ha ha. maybe for you. hee. Thanks for your constant encouragement! I’m trying to stay away from the salt but last night after that long run I had a ton of pasta. I figure once I’m not training for the du I will be more strict with eating.

  19. Your son is precious!!!!
    I was hoping you were joining us for the mamaguns but it sounds like you have a lot going on already! Good luck.

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks, lady!! I wish I could but I just think it’s not time right now because of my shoulder. I will do the next round though for sure!!

  20. pauline says:

    Wow on the schedule. Maybe I need something like this. I’ll admit it here first…I’m considering applying for the mamavation campaign. I think I need that kind of committed and REQUIRED schedule to get me going and keep me on track. In either case, you are my new fitness hero. (PS-your kiddo is cute!)

    • gretablau says:

      You know what? YEs!! Make a plan. Set a goal and reach it. It feels wonderful!! I can think of some better Mamas to have as your heroes, but I’ll take it!! Ha ha.

      If you decide to make a schedule, put it on your blog and I’ll keep you honest!

  21. Your exercise routine is amazing and inspiring!! I need to find my next race to run. A Halloween one would be a blast I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

