Mamavation Monday September 6, 2010

OpenSky Store Pakistan Charity Drive
First, today I read a tweet that said 14% of Pakistanis are children under 5 years old. 8% are women who are either pregnant or nursing. For some reason, maybe charity exhaustion, we don’t seem to be as upset about the tragedy of the worst floods in Pakistan in the country’s history. According to the Guardian, 1500 people have been killed and hundreds of thousands are stranded. I have decided to try to help. 100% of my portion of every sale in my OpenSky store will go to this organization, ON THE GROUND in Pakistan: Future Leaders of Pakistan. This isn’t a huge charity where the money may not go anywhere for months (like has happened in Haiti), which is why I chose it.

I’ll be adding lots of mom, baby and kid items on my shop temporarily so there is more to choose from. I love these onesies!!! You can get any initial!

Also in love with these t-shirts and think “Human Being” is apt considering who the profits will go to help!

I’ll be adding more, so check back. Also, if you want to donate directly, I’ll be posting a link soon for http://flp.org.pk/ the organization where I will be sending my portion of sales. 100%!! I’ve added some less expensive items, really cute earrings for $12 and a wide variety as well. If you can’t afford to buy anything, please pass on the sale to someone else. Please tweet the following?

Check out @gretablau’s #OpenSky to help Pakistani flood victims: http://tinyurl.com/3ahv3v7

Other News
5K is tomorrow. I’ll be doing a vlog after giving shout outs. Anyone else want one? I have given my family members instructions on where to stand and told them to hold up signs. I seriously will need all of the help I can get.

Mamavation shout outs! Thanks, first of all, to Leah and the other leadership for naming me Sista of the Week! How sweet! I’m glad you think I’m making a difference! Also, I’m now the Comment Warrior, so I’ll be bugging everyone to post comments on our Sista’s posts! It really feels good to get comments, so please try to get those comments in, even if you only do a couple at a time! Congrats to the other new leadership!

The Hydrator is @Rachel_L , The Regulator @Notdiyheather, Movement Motivator @Rachelsteffen, Mama Guns @fitmomtraining, Veggie Contessa @Ljenator, Food Truth Diva @way2gomom and Lori @gutimom Coven Coordinator. I am in good company! Let’s kick some butt, ladies!

Looking very much forward to meeting Allana Pratt on Mamavation TV this week! Ah, our relationships with our bodies. I’m trying to like mine more, see it as an athletic machine that needs energy, like Kia’s post talked about.

Have a great week, ladies!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Mamavation Monday September 6, 2010

  1. Good luck on the 5K tomorrow – will be thinking of you! Can’t wait to see the vlog and all your supporters cheering you on.

    And congrats on being Sista of the week and the new comment warrior – I know you’ll do a fab job!! 🙂

    • gretablau says:

      thanks, lady!!
      that’s very sweet! my mom, husband, son, aunt, uncle, grandmother and nephew will be there! how cool is that?

  2. Pingback: Twitted by GretaBlau

  3. amanda says:

    Good Luck on your 5k! You’ll do great!!!!

    Congrats on SOTW and being deemed the “comment warrior”! Your just awesome!

    Enjoy your holiday!

    • gretablau says:

      thanks, amanda!! i’ll finish, not sure about doing great, but i guess that’s a stinky attitude so i’ll shut up. ha ha.

      have a great 3-day weekend!

  4. Shannon says:

    I love the t-shirt too. It looks like it would be comfy! Good luck at tomorrow’s 5k. Your going to rock it! Look forward to seeing your vlog. I think you deserved the SOTW title. You are so motivating and, supportive. If I haven’t said it already, I am so glad you joined!

  5. kia says:

    Good luck with your 5K! Glad you are donating your OpenSky shop proceeds. I know I don’t have charity exhaustion but I am also aware of much more going on than Pakistan right now. Their crisis is epic and has been so for about a month so far. I don’t know if some people really have no idea based on how little they have ever been outside the U.S. and away from resort type areas

    • gretablau says:

      thanks, baby. i am hoping to get some buzz going and i’ll be featuring a different cause every month. what are some of the things you see going on that need to change? it can be incredibly overwhelming. i have been told i have a save the world mentality which is good and bad i suppose. can only do what you can do, right? really want to read that peter singer book “the life you can save” – he’s into radical philanthropy.

      Oh god, i know people who have only been in those resorts period!! and they will warn others not to go out into the “native” areas. i swear to you! ack.

      ok so i’ll post the shout out video tomorrow barring any technical difficulties!

  6. Julie M says:

    Good luck on the 5k tomorrow, You will do great! You definitely deserve the SOTW title. You are such a sweet, caring person I can tell. I will have to check out your opensky!

  7. Can’t wait to hear how your 5k goes! And congrats on the new title! I looked through your OpenSky shop today and if I had extra $$$ right now, I would have been all over it! I love your cause! Congrats again on being SOTW, like I said, you totally, absolutely deserve it! ❤ Hope you have a great week dear!

  8. mommy-momo says:

    Way to go!! Thanks for sharing and educating!! and oh my…im so excited for your race tomorrow!! good luck! I cant wait to get back out there and start racing again. Once i have this babes hehe

  9. Good luck on your 5k! I know you will rock it though! And Congrats on your new leadership role and being our SOTW!

  10. I know you weren’t happy with your time today but trust me when I say, you should be incredibly proud of yourself. You finished. A lot of people wouldn’t have done it and you have and you’re already thinking ahead to your next race and improving your time! Awesome 🙂

  11. Amanda @beeacutie2 says:

    I know you will roc your 5k good luck! And those onies super cute!

  12. Best of luck with your 5K!!! and congrats on your new leadership position and being Sista of the Week!!! YEAH!

    Also – I love how you are trading different charities with your opensky shop. I may have to do the same because I can’t pick just ONE! haha

    Have a great week

  13. You are awesome! Just wanted to remind you of that!

  14. You already kick butt! Good luck on your 5K tomorrow…wish I could run it with you! XXOO

  15. Laila says:

    Thanks so much for the comment about Pakistan, it has definitely flown under our collective consciousness. I love the human being t-shirt!

    And best of luck on your 5K tomorrow and I’d LOVE a shout out,lol.

  16. mozzie76 says:

    Congrats on your 5K and on SOTW and on Comment warrior!!! You are amazing! Keep up the awesome achievements!

  17. pauline says:

    Wow! On all fronts. the opensky shop and the proceeds to be donated are awesome! And as for all that running? Keep at it. I’m amazed at your energy and can see why you were chosen as Sista of the Week.

  18. April says:

    Woohoo you go girl! Have fun on your 5K and good for you on the charity raising! What a great idea! 🙂 hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  19. Hope your 5K went well and CONGRATS on being the SOTW!

    (p.s. you are doing a FABULOUS job as the Comment Warrior!)

    And, good luck with your Pakistan charity efforts. 🙂

  20. MrsFatass says:

    Good luck sistah! Can’t wait to hear how it all goes down!

  21. tweetin’ for ya!

    Hope the race was AWESOME!

    Laura @SeeLauraRun

  22. lorrie says:

    good luck with your 5k hope you finish with a good time and enjoy yourself

Leave a Reply

