Mamavation Monday—August 22, 2010

As you all know, I’ve been having problems sticking to an eating plan. I’m holding steady on the weight though and also have exercised 3X this week, doing C25K training and one biking session. Some updates:

Soccer Team
The first game is September 14. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to play due to my shoulder injury (see below), but I plan on attending just to meet everyone and see what the skill levels are and cheer my 40+ sisters on.

Physical Therapy
I had my first full week of physical therapy, and it seems to be working. They are doing massage, stretches, and exercises with me. I also have to do some exercises at home. We’ll see how it goes this week. I have to remember how bad the pain was before to realize that even though I’m still in pain, it’s not as much as the week before. I will be doing triathlons next year, I hope!

Weight Watchers
I went to a party yesterday where I saw some women who have done WW in the past and want to get back on that wagon, so we all agreed we would start again on Monday. I think we all need the support in order to have the courage to start again. Looking forward to it. Shout out to Heidi, Sarah and Tami!

Tree of Life Notebook

Open Sky Shop!!
I have a new Open Sky Shop! Open Sky just takes the blog review to the next logical step, allowing readers to easily purchase the items reviewed from someone they trust. This post is a detailed review of the really cute notebooks I’m selling right now made by a very sweet couple in Oregon. A portion of This Is It! Creations’ sales go to animal welfare groups, and 25% of my portion of sales will go to the Jane Goodall Institute. I plan on doing lots of Christmas shopping through them as well. I’ll be adding more items to my store in the near future as they add items to OpenSky. You can always click on the OpenSky badge in the right column to see my updates. I’ll be reviewing some yoga products, a sporty watch and some other fitness/health related items and hopefully selling those on my OpenSky store too!

Mamavation TV
There has been tons of talk of one of Mamavation’s sponsors, Earth Footwear, so I’m intrigued. Apparently you burn more calories wearing them because of the way the bottom of the shoe is and how they force you to use your core more for balance while walking. Two pairs will be given away on Monday’s Mamavation TV! Also, can’t wait to hear how the Move It and Lose It ladies did! One of them will win $500 tomorrow night!

Mamavation Moms
This is the last week for Jenny and Lisa. Can’t wait to hear about their progress. I think it’s great that one of the requirements of being a Mamavation mom is that they have to run a 5K by February! Crack that whip, Leah! Yes! I’m also glad that, since Lisa only had 3 weeks as a MM, she can apply again. I’ll be pulling for her to get the full 7 weeks!

For other women who would like to apply to be a Mamavation Mom, go here for details. It’s kind of like the Biggest Loser program and it’s great. The application dates are September 27–October 6. 

Congrats to Shawnee Halligan @ShawneeH Sista of the Week!! If you’re interested in joining the Sistahood, check it out here. It’s basically just a group of women who are supporting each other in getting healthy and fit! It was founded by Leah Segedie, who lost 170 pounds!

I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but I’m off to start commenting! I WILL get to every post this week!

What’s going on with you? : )

This entry was posted in Mamavation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Mamavation Monday—August 22, 2010

  1. Laila says:

    Glad to hear your physical therapy is going well. *hugs*

    My job started a weight watchers at work program. I thought about it but wasn’t sure if it would work for me. I may revisit it this fall. I definitely agree with needing a support system, folks to help keep you motivated.

    I love your Open Sky shop!! Those journals are nice!

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks! Oh that’s so cool that they have WW at your work! Definitely take advantage! I’ll be doing it still in the fall, so definitely lean on me for support and help me!

      I love the journals too. For sure. I’m getting some of them for relatives and friends for Christmas!!

  2. kia says:

    You will be doing a tri by next year, just be steadfast in your therapy. Congrats for kicking C25K butt this week! I am looking forward to seeing you progress. I didn’t know Lisa could apply again, that is really cool. I hope she does.

    • gretablau says:

      With YOUR help! I’m sure. You’re my athletic idol, baby.
      Leah announced that Lisa could apply again on the main page where she told us about Earth Footwear and the Sista of the week, etc.

      Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Roxy says:

    Wow! Lots of things going on. The teenager just finished her extended script for physical therapy (she had broken her arm in 3 places in rec and mat games before school was out for summer) and everything is 100%. Definitely do those at home exercises. I think the reason our teenager got an extended script is b/c she was being lazy! lol

    CONGRATTSSSS again on the OpenSky shop! I think I’ll buy one for the teenager later this year. She’s an artist and likes to do journals, so I think it’d be up her alley. 🙂

    I’m curious. With you doing WW, what does hubby do? That’s me assuming you’re married and if you aren’t, don’t kill me! *hides*

    • gretablau says:

      Yes, sometimes too much going on, honestly! I’m pretty scattered and always want to do more. A spazz. Ha ha.

      I am going to be doing everything I can to be able to do really every day normal stuff without having to hold my arm for 10 seconds afterward until the sharp pain goes away. I’m too young for this shit!!

      Yes, I’m married. Ha ha. My husband supports me but he doesn’t do it himself. He is maybe 10 pound overweight, but he’s not interested in dieting because he never had to up until maybe 5 years ago. He was always really really skinny! What about you?

      • Roxy says:

        Actually, my fiance was one of the reasons I am on this journey. He was always thinner than me and I don’t know if that’ll ever change, but he gained a ton of weight the last year. He went from 170 to 225. He had stretch marks all over his thighs and butt. I was shocked. I mean we used to go hiking, he’d drag me rock climbing and we were really active, but with me going to school and with the stress of having his sister around, we both put on a ton of weight. Lisa joined Mamavation before I did and seeing her success, I told her I wanted to get involved and get off my duff…and here we are.

        Fiance won’t give up his beer just yet, but I’m sure he’ll come to terms with that eventually. I’m super proud of him. He’s doing better about snacking on fruits and controlling his meal portions. 🙂

  4. Congrats on your open sky shop! Mine was just opened this week too 🙂

    Also – way to go on C25K!! whoo hoo best of luck and get well soon with the shoulder injury!

    Have a great week

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks, Scarlett – can you post your store or did you post on your monday post? Is yours the one with the Pyrex? I’m going to be trying to do some give aways on mine too.

  5. So nice that you have a bunch of IRL friends to re-start WW. You’ll do so well. And, THANKS for the support!! Have a great week!

  6. Rachel says:

    Woot! I think you are totally awesome! *HUGS*

    What is going on with me? Well… life is crazy like always. We are adjusting to our new normal of C going to preschool 5 days a week. C LOVES it; P misses him like crazy cakes; and T’s schedule is completly thrown for a loop = craziness. 🙂

  7. CJ @CJinKY says:

    I know first hand how painful shoulder injuries can be…I hope that gets better soon for you! Have fun with the soccer…I’d love to do that!

  8. You are so busy! Love open Sky! Good luck this week!

  9. First of all, Thanks for the comment you left on my blog. I need to shut that dang duck up, huh? I didn’t even realize that I had taken away my positive victory! I went back and took it out! 🙂

    I am glad your PT is working! 🙂 I love reading all the updates in your life!Thanks for keeping us in the know, and THANKS again for setting me straight earlier! *HUGS*

  10. Angela says:

    Stay on the physical therapy and make sure to do your home exercises for that. It will make a huge difference and I’m sure you’ll be back to great in no time.

  11. Shannon says:

    You WILL be back to Tri’s in no time, just keep up with that therapy! I love the way you set up your post very clean and, organized. I’ve been intrigued by the Open Sky I’ll have to check it out. Let me know how it works out for you! Keep up the great work! 🙂

    • Greta says:

      Hey Shannon – thanks! I wish I could give credit where credit’s due. One of the other SIstas did their post like that and I thought it was easier to read.

      I’m not sure how OpenSky will work out, but I love getting stuff to review for you guys!!

  12. Good luck this week! i am glad you were able to get some workouts in last week! Sending good thoughts your way that you make some progress on the scale this week, even though there are many other ways to measure progress!

    Have a great week hun!

  13. Weight Watchers is a wonderful program, and you really learn how to eat and what “normal” eating portions are. I did WW 3 years ago and lost 40 pounds, and kept them off through 2 pregnancies. I would really love to go back soon but can’t quite make the meetings. That’s important to me to have that weekly accountability and support. I tried the online thing and it wasn’t for me.

    Looking forward to seeing how you like WW and what you accomplish! Good luck with the physical therapy and hope you get better soon. 🙂

    Have a great week!

  14. mkopp1 says:

    I hope the shoulder is better so you can play soccer. Keep on working that shoulder and everything will come together.

  15. I hope physical therapy helps you out! GL on WW, my sister has lost over 100 pounds with them!

    • Greta says:

      Thanks, Danielle! I’ve lost about 12 pounds with them (gained 3 back) so it totally works. That’s amazing about your sister!

  16. colleen says:

    good luck with the weight watchers…having others doing it with you should be a great benefit!

  17. Leah @bookieboo says:

    Good luck on the physical therapy. I’ve been through that several times due to neck & back injuries. Xxoo

  18. Keep going with PT, it sucks now but they know what they’re doing and you’ll feel so much better when it’s over and you’re back at 100% I can’t wait to follow your tri training! That’s so awesome! I hope to be there one day soon too! Maybe the garmin girls can take on a tri together 🙂

    Steph

    • Greta says:

      Thanks Steph. I think we should totally pursue the Garmin Girls thing. I am going to think about it when I’m less busy with work I actually get paid for!! Maybe we can get them to sponsor us for FitBloggin11!

      I can’t even imagine being back to normal. I cringe when I see people playing sports that require you to swing your arms. I’d be doubled over on the ground!

  19. Joanna says:

    The group you have for Weight Watchers sounds awesome! I hope your physical therapy keeps going well, and congrats on the OpenSky Shop! 🙂

    • Greta says:

      thanks joanna! i’ll have more fitness and health stuff up there shortly! a lot of stuff being sent for me to check out!

  20. I’ve suffered with migraines and headaches for years. Even though I still have them and they can be very painful, I also have to remind myself how much worse they used to be. I’m glad the PT is helping. Can’t wait to cheer you on with soccer and triathlon training!!!

    • Greta says:

      Yeah it still hurts but not as much, so I guess that’s something to be grateful for, right? Thank you!! I’m really really excited about all of it!

  21. Hilary says:

    I’m glad your shoulder is feeling better! Maybe one day we can ride together. Meet halfway, maybe Greenwich?

  22. Aww, I’m happy to hear physical therapy is going well for you! 🙂

  23. lorrie says:

    good job on staying active, therapy does help I had therapy 2 years ago when i fractured my ankle and i actually lost weight from all the stuff my therapist put me through learned to love the elliptical now i just have stationary bike.

    currently I’m in a weight loss challenge and I have my friend whos running it do my measurements weekly so we can see my progress i do that once a week. good luck this week

  24. MrsFatass says:

    Oy the shoulders. I tore a rotator cuff once. Barfight. I kid you not. SOOO stupid. An injury from 15 years ago occasionally still comes back to haunt me.

    But it did feel good to slug a guy. So, there’s that.

    Okay, you. Excited to read your WW progress. I’m thinking of getting on that train.

    • Greta says:

      Your name makes me laugh every time. Hee.
      Barfight? You silly girl. Well, I used to try to start them but no one would bite. Ha ha. Hey – join WW!!! I love it. On day 3 back and the water bloat is already falling off.

Leave a Reply

