Middle-Aged Jock Updates! Mamavation Monday 5

I’ve been around almost a month and it’s amazing how much having this blog has helped me to keep to my goals and, when I don’t keep to them, the very existence of the blog is forcing me to face that there is something keeping me from them.

Progress
I was on vacation last week, and it was neutral as far as my weight and fitness go. I ate more than I should have, but because most of the time I couldn’t taste anything, I didn’t eat as much as I would have liked. Also made a point to exercise, going for a 27-mile bike ride with 3 people half my age and a jog the same day with my sister-in-law. Did I say I love my in-laws? They are all into fitness now! Well, many of them at least. I ended up getting sick, asthma issues, so haven’t been able to exercise for about a week, but I know once I’m well, I’ll get right back to it.

Those Updates I Promised
BlogHer
I spoke about BlogHer in my first post. I want to go next year! I want to be sponsored by a cool fitness/health company. Perhaps Vibram even! I am still considering some of those cool foot-shaped shoes! They have announced that BlogHer 2011 will be in San Diego on August 5th and 6th. This fits in great with our plans to drive up the coast of California next year. Disney here we come! I’ve been reading BlogHer tweets, and I am really psyched for next year.

SOCCER I wrote about my illustrious and violent adolescent soccer career and my desire to play again. Well, I joined a 40+ women’s soccer league in my state! Very excited. I start physical therapy for my shoulder on August 16, so hopefully I’ll be able to play a month later. At first I was kind of annoyed that the 30+ women play on a full field and the 40+ women play on a half field, but now I’m thinking it’s probably a good thing. Simply writing about playing soccer 25 years ago motivated me to go looking for a team. Pretty cool!

MAMAVATION SISTAHOOD I’ve learned a lot from the Sistahood on Mamavation. I’ve made friends and connected with several women on there, and I’m really grateful for that. I also won some DVDs on MamavationTV from Aligned and Well/Kelly Bowman. I’m really interested in the running restoration title as well as the one for tight hips, which I have. I’ll do a review on these at some point in the future. Love winning stuff! It has also been great watching the Mamavation Moms in their weight loss “journey.” Can’t think of another name for it.

FOOD, WEIGHT, ETC. The food stuff is getting better, as in at least I know when I emotionally eat now. I have not been following Weight Watchers since before I left for vacation, but I do intend to go back on. I’m just not there yet. It’s been a month or two of struggling on and off with this, but I’ve kept about 13 pounds off with no gains, so I’m doing okay. Just need to think more about why it is I can’t commit. The only thing from early July that I have stuck to is the Couch-to-5K training, which is interesting since I am doing it because I signed up for the 5K on Labor Day. Gives me a window into my psychology. I need competition, either with myself or others. Unfortunately, my mother dropped out of the 5K, but I am still going, and good thing is she can watch my son while my husband and I run together!

GOALS KIND OF MET? One thing I have nearly accomplished. I have had TWO diet sodas since July 24. The goal is to have none, so maybe I’ll try to have none for a month at a time. Starting with last Saturday.

KNEES & SHOULDERS The prescription for my knees, running on the balls of my toes, seems to be helping! I’m so happy about that because I really do want to be able to run. Like I said above, physical therapy will start mid August. I’m getting frustrated with the pain because it’s almost like I can’t use my right arm. The smallest thing hurts. I want to be active in many ways that I can’t right now. A friend asked if I wanted to be a tennis partner. I told her I’d be rolling on the ground in pain. I’d like to be able to train for a triathlon. Hoping that the PT will really help me get there.

Thanks for listening! Do you have any updates? Any advice? All welcome! I would love to hear how you think I should go about building my blog up so I can do giveaways and get a sponsor for BlogHer 2011. It’s not just about that. I really want to feel I’m working hard and a real part of the blogging community. I want to be able to give stuff to my readers and also be able to expand by attending BlogHer next year so I can learn more about blogging.

Here’s a photo of me and the two nieces and a nephew who I went for the bike ride with. It was the best part of the trip!

Congrats to @jamnsfld76 this week’s Sista of the Week!

Welcome to @ljenator as the new Mamavation Mom! You’ll kick ass, I know. And @jennydecki, you rock as always. Kick ass, lady. Take names later.

And wish me luck! I am trying to win this cool Buzz Lightyear meal set for Seamus this week from The Maniacal Matron and Zak! Designs!

Photos by Frank Blau Photography.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Middle-Aged Jock Updates! Mamavation Monday 5

  1. jimma says:

    Awesome photos! 🙂
    Thank you for hanging in there with me while I’ve been sick …

  2. Krista says:

    Great work on having only 2 diet sodas! I know that’s a hard one for lots of people to get over. The emotional eating…I also deal with that. One thing that is important to realize is that food has served a purpose for you in helping you deal with emotions (even though it really doesn’t do a good job of dealing). I want to accept that about myself and I’m learning how to really meet my needs rather than emotionally eat. I’ve learned a lot of tools for this in doing the Weight-Release program (there is more on my blog sidebar about it).
    Hope you have a great week!

  3. SO glad you’ve joined Mamavation. You are one movin’ Mama!! I am also Middle-Aged (at 45) and you are quite the inspiration. Have a terrific week!!

    @ShawneeH

  4. Laura says:

    I can’t imagine riding a bike for that long. You amaze and encourage me to do better!!! Good luck this week!!!

    • gretablau says:

      It seems longer than it is, though it was a lot of uphills and even the young people were getting super tired!! I felt like I kicked ass hanging with them!

  5. amanda says:

    I am DYING to find a soccer league here! I am SO rusty, it will not be pretty, haha!

    Good for you! Your doing awesome!!!!

    • gretablau says:

      Amanda – last time I played soccer, i was in my 20s. That was a long ass time ago. I’m hoping I’ll be cleared by PT to play, but if not, it’s there for me when I’m ready. Thanks!!

  6. Shannon says:

    I love hearing how active you are! I have always wanted to get a bike and start riding. (maybe one day soon) I also would love to try out a pair of those Vibrams see how they feel on me! Congrats on being so active this past week. Good luck on meeting your goals this week.

    • gretablau says:

      I wish I could be MORE active. Might go for a ride tonight. Been feeling less than motivated and the shoulder pain is keeping me from wanting to move.

  7. I’m so glad to hear you say that joining the Sistahood has helped you stick with your goals! This will be my 3rd week and I already feel like this is going to make a huge difference!
    Great job with cutting out the soda!
    I’m totally jealous of your workouts!

  8. Being a former Diet Pepsi addict, I am majorly congratulating you on only having 2 diet sodas since the 24th!! Ah-mazing! I still have one occasionally, but it is not a need like it used to be! I hope you have a great week and keep up the good work! 🙂 You can do this!

  9. WOW! You’re sooooo active woman! I don’t see how you have time to keep up with all of us! That’s awesome. You’re doing great.

    I love the photo of you and your family. So awesome.

    You reminded me that I need to re-register the kiddos for soccer before the reg. fee goes up!

    I hope you have a great week sweetie! 🙂 MWAH!

    • gretablau says:

      Thanks, Lisa. Those are my husband’s nieces and nephew, but I feel like they are mine since I met them when they were wee! Have a good one. Thanks for your comment!

  10. kia says:

    Beyond BlogHer are you gonna try to go to FitBloggin in March as well? Something to think about. I have loved having you about via Mamavation for the past month. Your enthusiasm is infectious. Good luck in your goals, I look forward to reading about your new soccer career.

    • gretablau says:

      Not sure if I will go to FitBloggin. Maybe if I can get a sponsor? I forget where it is located! I’ll have to go check it out. Thanks! You are also very inspirational. I hope to some day kick ass as hard as you do!! Hope we can do a tri someday. Mamavation tri team anyone?

  11. You’ll have to let me know how those shoes work out for you! They seem so interesting but so strange at the same time!!

    I am beyond psyched that BlogHer will be in San Diego next year! My company has an office in Solona Beach (just a bit north) and I am already starting to plot… i mean plan my trip haha!

    Looking forward to seeing how you do next week! Good luck with the no soda thing!

    ❤ Laura

    • gretablau says:

      Hey Laura –

      I’ve slacked in doing any research on the shoes and orthotics or high arches. Soon though! I would like to try them!

      Thanks for the encouragement!

  12. colleen says:

    Hope you are feeling better soon! Wow what a workout you did with your family…awesome!

  13. I’m sorry did I read that right? 27 miles??? WOW you are amazing. I love the idea of you joining the soccer league. I know a few women that do that and they have a great time. Good luck on your goals this week.

  14. jennydecki says:

    You are such a rock star! I like running on the balls of my feet 🙂 You’re doing great and can’t wait to see how you continue to succeed! 🙂 ((hugs))

  15. Paige says:

    Wow! A 27 mile bike ride and a run in the SAME DAY? You are a strong woman! Did I tell you that you inspired me to do the couch to 5K??? My husband and I are now doing it together!

    • gretablau says:

      Yeah! Of course, I haven’t exercised much since because of my shoulder. Feeling very very lazy. I AM SO HAPPY to have inspired you!! WOW!!!!

  16. Amanda @beeacutie2 says:

    You are doing so great! You are a rock star in my book!

  17. Julie M says:

    oh man I would love to play soccer or softball again. Have fun with that.

    Great job on keeping up with your goals while on vacation. That is terrific!!

  18. I’m so glad you are here with us. I think you make a fantastic addition to the team. XXOO

  19. Hilary A says:

    I have no doubt that you are going to kick butt at the duathlon. Now you are going to play soccer? Go Greta!!

  20. AWESOME on only TWO diet sodas! I am down to 1 coke a day, which is hard!

    Crazy how a little thing like that can be soooo addicting!

    I wish I had advice for you on building up your blog. I’m in that process as well, but I have found that emailing companies directly and just blatantly asking for something gets GREAT results. I sent out maybe 10 emails and have gotten maybe 5 sponsorships for giveaways?

    Have a great week! Awesome job on your bike ride

  21. lorrie says:

    wow you are so far ahead on fitness its amazing the most i do in a week is 20 miles walking stil getting my routine down and fiquring out how everything works.

    you might want to post your blogposts to twitter and facebook also comment on other blogs and make friends that way also theres are a few people on twitter that do giveaways every week listenings of them @resourcefulmom and i forgot the other one

  22. reh556s says:

    You are amazing!! HUGS

  23. Roxy says:

    I want to go to BlogHer as well! I’m in Southern OR, so a trip to San Diego would not be out of the question! It’s people like you that inspire me to be more fit so that, in my 40’s, someone can look at me and say, “You look great for your age!” Maybe not so much in those words, but you know what I mean. 🙂 You’re already fit and fabulous. We have a friend that works at the local outdoors store here (he’s also my fiance’s rock climbing partner) and he leads a pretty active lifestyle as well. What’s so amazing about him is that he had a bicycling accident that nearly killed him, he’s gone through chemo with Hepatitis C, etc., and he’s never let any of that keep him from being active.

    And hey, considering all this activity, consider the diet cokes a treat! You’ll find something new to treat yourself with eventually!

Leave a Reply

