Weight Watchers Friendly Foods

This may be a random and rambling post, so be forewarned!

I think I need a day to just eat whatever the hell I want and not even have to write it down. It’s freeing in a way. I just ate Smartfood OUT OF THE BAG, without measuring! It’s the small things, fellow jocks and jockettes. Incidentally, 1 cup is 2 points.

It was a rough day, and I wanted to eat things emotionally ALL day, yesterday too. But I didn’t. However, I did make a decision about 30 minutes ago to go on the Smartfood free-for-all and have no remorse.

That said, I’ve discovered some great food choices on Weight Watchers that I wanted to share with you.

Garden Lites Butternut Squash Souffle
This yummy treat is made from all-natural ingredients, including butternut squash, egg whites, unsweetened apple sauce, brown sugar, white sugar, vanilla, dietary fiber, corn starch and spices. It’s also Kosher and nut free. I got mine at a mainstream chain grocery store, and it was surprisingly yummy. I ate half with my dinner and it only cost 2 points (140 calories, 2 gms fat, 4 gms fiber). I will definitely have this again. Check out their other products here.

Vitalicious VitaTops Muffin Tops
These are like gold to people on Weight Watchers. One point, man. One point. Let’s face it, muffins are fattening and we all like the tops. Remember that Seinfeld episode? I’m not huge on the whole diet food market (read: more un-whole ingredients), and I’m trying to limit processed foods, but when you want a muffin, you want a muffin. Those giant muffins you can buy at any store or bakery? 10 points. Go for these instead. They are pretty tasty. I like the corn “flavor,” but don’t expect it to taste exactly like a 10-point corn muffin and you’ll be happily surprised. In the freezer section at the store. I put them in the microwave for 18 seconds and then low toaster setting. Takes the muffin-craving edge off.

Kim’s Bagels
Kim Bensen lost 212 pounds on Weight Watchers and now has her own line of 1-point bagels available in six varieties. They aren’t the huge bagels we’re used to getting, but it’s nice to be able to have a sandwich and not “eat up” 1/3 of daily points. This is a great alternative to the 3- to 7-point bagel you’ll get out. Kim Bensen also has a weight loss support site here.

FiberOne Cottage Cheese
I love these discoveries. The ones where you find something slightly filling that is also ZERO points. A quarter cup of this yummy, low-fat cottage cheese? ZERO POINTS. Of course, as with everything, if you have a half a cup it’s more than zero points.

That’s it for now, but there is more to come later on great foods to eat while on WW.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight Watchers Friendly Foods

  1. Lizzie says:

    Rave on jock-woman. You’re in the balance zone. As Geenen Roth says. – for every diet there is a binge. That doesn’t mean you can’t eat with awareness and loving regard for your body – the true definition of a ‘diet’ – it means you trust your body to tell you what it needs – and sometimes it (?) needs Smart Food fom the bag like a free and happy child. Play, trust, listen, share, and keep raving on. Your naked sharing is refreshing.

  2. Stella says:

    MAJ! Funny you should post about wanting to eat ‘whatever’ and not be vigilant about your points. I woke up (2am!) feeling the same way… ‘today, i wish i could just eat anything i want! and not even put in my points… a blank day’. Smart Food was yours, mine was peanut butter… way more points than the ‘smart’ food. That said, I love your wwff’s. I ate the very same butternut squash soufflé this week and, yes, it gave me 2 meals! All in all you have been a huge influence in my making some focused decisions to better my health. Actually felt the need to exercise yesterday! who knew? Keep on bloggin’!

Leave a Reply

