When the Going Gets Tough—Mamavation Monday Post

Well, I gotta tell you, this weekend has not been easy. I haven’t really helped to make it easier either. I had two “bad” days of eating. Maybe I should say “off-plan” though because that contains less self-judgment. It seems like being off-plan is really throwing me. I feel anxious and I’m finding it hard to handle much today, but I’m pushing myself to do what I know I need to in order to feel better.

I’m getting back on track, counting points and getting ready for my workouts for the day. This is what I know will lift me up and out of this feeling I’m having.

What I Need to Do:

  1. Back on point TODAY. No waiting for Monday to go back on plan. I need to make some progress, and the mind game of back-on Monday is not going to help me. I would overeat today knowing that tomorrow is D-day. I’m fighting the urge to eat for comfort. An example: It’s been a rough day for my family. Not sure what it is, but we’re all “in a mood” today. My three-and-a-half son has been pretty crabby and screechy and my husband seems tired and stressed out. I walked into the kitchen after a screeching incident, and the first thing that came into my mind was “I’ll eat [huge] a bowl of cereal!” My mood actually brightened up. “Yes! The idea of that makes me happy!”  I didn’t have that cereal. (The lesson I learned this week is that I DO eat emotionally. Wow, I guess I’m slow, but I really never thought I did that!)
  2. Couch-to-5K with my mom followed by our ceremonial jump in the pool, fully clothed! Hey, it’s the little things. Today is the last day of the week, hence the last day to do Day 3, Week 1. I know for a fact that if I don’t do this, I will slip into “I’m-a-loser” mode. If I do it, I will feel so good because not only did I do it, I overcame this blanket of depression and did it! I can also check off Week 1 and move on to Week 2! The idea for me is that doing the exercise is great for my body, but knowing I did it is great for my mind and self confidence.
  3. Start the 30-Day Shred by Jillian Michaels. I purchased Level One today on Amazon’s Video on Demand. My friend, the one who is the reason I did the Trek Across Maine this year, mentioned one of Jillian’s books, and I had heard a lot previously about the Shred. We agreed that we would do it together. I thought maybe we should start tomorrow, but now I’m thinking I really need to kick myself out of this funk and do it today. There are a lot of arm movements I may not be able to do with my shoulder injury, but I will not allow that to be an excuse and will do what I can without making the injury worse. I love that you can now get workout videos, and many other videos, on Amazon immediately like that!
  4. Find a good yoga video on Amazon on Demand. I need to breathe, I need to meditate, I need to rid my body of this stress. Yoga, yes!

I should reiterate to myself what I have accomplished this week too. I started this blog, which is helping me focus on my diet and exercise. I hope that enough people will start reading it to make me feel accountable. I know, I know. I need to be accountable to myself. I joined Mamavation on bookieboo. That, I think, will be a great motivator for me, and I hope I can be a support for the other women on there. I hope to be in the Sistahood on that site as well. I went back on Weight Watchers after a short hiatus. I’m dedicated to it and I’m ready to lose the next 12 pounds to get very close to my goal weight of 124.

Did I mention I joined a women’s soccer league? Haven’t been to a practice or a game yet, but there is actually a league out there for women over 40! I’m super excited about it. The more different things that I actually like doing that I can find, the closer I am to having an active lifestyle. AND I’m looking forward to the Mamavation Twitter party tomorrow night! Can’t wait to see who wins!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to When the Going Gets Tough—Mamavation Monday Post

  1. Welcome to Bookieboo and mamavation. The Shred is awesome..love it and Hubs and I were JUST talking about soccer way to go on that.

    I look forward to getting to know you and help cheer you on!

  2. jennydecki says:

    I love that you corrected yourself to off-plan! Yea for less self-judgement. No success EVER came from shame!! Congrats on joining the league – I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  3. gretablau says:

    Hi Trish – thanks for the welcome! I am psyched to start the Shred. Jillian scares me, but I think she’s really cool and obviously knows what she’s doing! Do you like playing soccer?

    Looking forward as well!

  4. gretablau says:

    Yeah, Jenny – self loathing and flagellation never helps anyone. Thanks!! I can’t wait to see which one of you wins tomorrow!

  5. Welcome to Mamavation! I’m so excited to get to know you. Don’t be too hard on yourself. No one around her is perfect, especially not me. We are a group of women striving to make better decisions for ourselves and our family imperfectly. I kick the perfect ones out. 🙂

  6. gretablau says:

    Thanks, Leah! Ha ha ha. Yeah, they would get annoying, right?

  7. Welcome!! I’m really looking forward to reading your blog and following your progress. I am a total emotional binge eater and even with my weight mostly steady where it needs to be, it’s still a battle. Know that you’re among an amazing group of gals and we all struggle some days and we’re all here for each other!
    Looking forward to your blogs and seeing you on Twitter 🙂

  8. gretablau says:

    Hi Steph. It’s more an emotional and mental battle than physical, don’t you think?

    So glad to see you guys all here! See you on #mamavation!

  9. Welcome to blogland and Mamavation! You CAN do this. We will, together.

  10. kia says:

    Woohoo SOCCER MOM!! I really want to be playing in league right now. If you can’t find a yoga outlet that works for you also try simple meditation or finding a quiet place to destress and breathe. And with C25K don’t be so mean if you don’t meet all your workouts in a week, simply repeat that week unless you are on a schedule. I think realizing you are an emotional eater is a huge success, this journey is also about learning about yourself to improve on the truth.

  11. Kristine says:

    The new blog looks awesome! And, I agree with the others, don’t be too hard on yourself.

  12. Alison says:

    How awesome about the soccer! I wish I could play again.

    And welcome! I’ve only been around one week… and hopefully I get asked to be in the Sistahood this week! I hope your week goes great! Can’t wait to get to know you more. 🙂

  13. gretablau says:

    Wow, thanks Shawnee, Kia, Kristine and Alison! Such a warm welcome!
    I am too hard on myself? My husband tells me that allllll the time. I’m always telling people to be gentle with themselves, but I guess I’m doing something different than I’m telling them to do!

    Kia – I love being a soccer mom who is playing and not one who is ferrying kids around to soccer games. I’m not ready to graduate to that yet! I have SOOO many fond memories of soccer as a kid. If you haven’t already, check out my “Get Greta” post about those days of soccer. I found a Video on Demand called “Integrating the OM into Yoga” or something like that. I need stretching and strength but also really need the de-stressing of the meditation aspect. I’ll report back on my blog about the results.

    Kristine – thanks for the blog compliment! I am a little intimidated by all of the fancy headers everyone has. I will get one of those if I’m still doing this in 6 months!

    Alison – you played soccer? Why can’t you play again? I looked for a women’s team for a few years and finally found a league! A little scared, but really happy I’ll be doing something I love again. OMG! Just realized I had a soccer dream last night! Cool!

  14. Jessica B says:

    WELCOME!!! yes do not start downing yourself it just is a continuous spiral downward once that starts~ I know. Instead fess up to your mistakes and then turn it around 🙂

  15. Welcome to mamavation!!

    We are all here for the same reason, we all want to get healthy. No one in the group is perfect. We dont have all the answers. What we do have is constant support and love and we can help you reach your goals!

  16. Stress is killer. I love Pilates for helping me rid my body of stress.

    I think when you are AWARE of your mental attitude it is the first step in the right direction! So, you are going in the RIGHT direction! That is awesome!

    Have a great week!

  17. gretablau says:

    Thanks Jessica, Lori and Heather!
    I can’t believe it but I did lose .5 pounds this week. Go figure.

  18. Shannon says:

    Don’t be so down on yourself. We are here to support you! We know you can do this. Keep getting back up and push yourself!

  19. gretablau says:

    Thanks, Shannon!

  20. Roxy says:

    Soccer league sounds like fun! I was never good at soccer, but I know it’s great exercise. 🙂 You know, Rachel_L (on twitter) told me not too long ago that her nutritionist gave her an off day or a free day and that really helped me not beat myself up when I made a slip. I recently purchased the 30 Day Shred as well and am eager to try it out. I’d do it right now if my stomach wasn’t tied in knots!

  21. Mandi says:

    “Off-plan”…. I like that! We shouldn’t think good vs bad, I’ll be using that from now on! Have a great week!

  22. gretablau says:

    Roxy – I do need to take a day off, but with the Weight Watchers, I’ve been having a hard time not using up all of the extra points you get by midweek, so then I don’t have anything left over to indulge with. The key, I think is racking up Activity Points. Then I can eat extra!!

  23. gretablau says:

    Thanks, Mandi!!

  24. jimma says:

    We should get your bike fixed, too — that’ll give you more options. I can bring it to our Belorussan friend this afternoon if you like …

  25. Laura says:

    Wow! You are doing some pretty cool things! Would love to try soccer! Way to go with developing a plan!

  26. Welcome! I think you and I would get along great – you sound just like me! I love playing organized sports – makes me feel “alive” or something. Great job on the c25k – you’ll be kicking my a$$ at that distance in no time!

  27. gretablau says:

    Yeah it’s fun exercise!! And hard. And your adrenaline gets going!
    Thanks, I doubt I’ll ever be faster than anyone!!

  28. Welcome to Mamavation! I look forward to getting to know you! I really like your goals and your spunk! You can do this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

