Some Stuff I’m Considering—Interval Training Timer

My mom and I have started doing the Couch-to-5K training and have been using her cell phone as a timer. It’s not working too well, so I’m in the market for an interval timer! We can use it later to do real interval training when working on speed, hills, etc. In the running:

The GymBoss interval timer. OK, I like the color, but I also like that it has two interval settings that you can set to repeat. I like that it has a stop watch too. It comes in this flashy pink, camo, silver and black. Has a belt clip.

Jeff Galloway is really well known in the running world. He has written books, run marathons, put out DVDs. Did I mention he was an Olympic runner? I like that his Run-Walk-Run Vibrating Timer is specifically for Run-Walk-Run intervals, but is it crazy that I wish it came in different colors?  Another thing I love is that he has so many resources on his site. Has belt clip as well. $19.95.

Still undecided. I like the idea of supporting Jeff Galloway because he’s a huge resource for runners, but I like pink. Is that really what it’s going to come down to?

This entry was posted in Some Stuff I'm Considering, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Some Stuff I’m Considering—Interval Training Timer

  1. jennydecki says:

    See, I’d go for the bright green. Not because I prefer it over pink (I don’t) but because that bright green will be SO much easier to find when it’s under a pile of mail in-between workouts. I’m not saying YOU have piles of mail where your timer and pedometer and other fun workout accessories get lost…but *I* do LOL

  2. gretablau says:

    Oh, honey, do you know me? Are you peeking in my window? I have so much CRAP on my desk. There’s an old banana peel, a giant bag of Cheerios, empty water bottles, rubber bands, piles of crap. You name it!

  3. Jason says:

    This is really good. I spend way too much time now during interval training watching the clock – instead of focusing on how hard I am pushing it. Ordering one now. I think hot pink would really match my leg warmers….KIDDING!

  4. Rachael says:

    But Greta, you’re not really on the couch, are you? Didn’t you just walk across Maine?
    Hope that you enjoy the training, despite the less-than-awesome running weather we’re having right now!

    • gretablau says:

      Yeah, walk across Maine? No way! That would’ve taken many more than 3 days! I rode my bike! Nice to see you on here! I haven’t really run in 4 years. Gotta let those tendons get used to it. Have you run the marathon in recent years?

      • Rachael says:

        OK, but nevertheless, bike ≠ couch.
        As for me, no marathons since 2004. On my current work-at-home schedule, with the Critter in day care only part-time, I work hard to fit in two runs around Prospect Park per week. If I’m really lucky, one of those runs is sans jogging stroller. I plan to run the New York Marathon at least one more time, though, when my kids are old enough to appreciate that their middle-aged mom kicks ass.

  5. gretablau says:

    Oh, what kind of jogging stroller do you have and what weight does it hold up to? I feel another post coming on! Seamus is about 30 pounds. Jim and I want to run together, but need someway of transporting the bean.

    Jim is dying to do a marathon. I’d like to do it for the accomplishment, but not sure I have a body that would hold up.

    • Rachael says:

      We have the BOB. Not sure which kind; I’ll have to get back to you. We LOVE the BOB. Gives the Critter a practically no-impact ride.
      Heh, funny — I was thinking that the topic of jogging strollers would be a lovely post for you to do!

  6. gretablau says:

    Yeah I am going to try to figure out how to do it. Maybe I’ll go to the store and check them out. Did you get it at a running store?

  7. Rachael says:

    No, got it “like new” via Craigslist.

  8. jimma says:

    I was using my iPod Touch for this the other day, and the battery ran out in the middle of my run … I had to start counting. How primitive.

Leave a Reply

