Mamavation

I just started this blog two days ago and then came across this online movement called Mamavation™. It’s an experiment in weight loss, fitness and support through the use of experts and social media. I love knowing that all of these women are banding together to blog, vlog, tweet and shout out to the world about what they are doing to improve fitness, weight, health, their lives. And what they are DOING in “real” life.

The brains behind the program, @bookieboo (Leah Segedie), an amazing woman who has lost over 170 pounds, conceived the idea and made it a reality. Within the program is the “Sistahood,” a “virtual healthy living sorority…committed to learning healthy living. OK, wait for it, I want to be part of this sorority (and that’s a first, trust me)! I don’t have to lose over 100 pounds and I don’t have diabetes or heart disease, but I need support too, and I think I can be a valuable member of this group. I have goals that will be difficult to attain alone.

How do I get to be a “Sista”? Well, I’ve already begun my journey, a word often overused on weight loss and dating shows. I have already virtually met five of the women involved in this group as contestants to be the next Mamavation Mom. The winner gets a treadmill (!), tons of workout stuff, a personal nutrition plan, shoes from the main sponsor Earth Footwear (cute stuff!) and access to experts—all in order to support her life change (not THAT one). OK, to start her weight loss JOURNEY. Well, I suppose it’s a good word for it because it can be long and arduous and a complete mind f%$! at times, not that all journeys are all of those things.

So here I go. Ladies, let me in! I’ve lost (this round) 12 pounds, with 13 more to go to get to fighting weight and to finally reach my goal, at 42, of being a real athlete again. I am doing  a 5K in September (my second) and a duathlon in October (my first and it’s in Central Park!) I recently rode my bike across Maine for Trek Across Maine to raise money for the American Lung Association. Training for the ride helped me A LOT in losing weight and changing my body composition completely. I’ve lost a few fat percentage points as well! Already signed up for next year!

Basically I’m learning how to have an active lifestyle, and not necessarily focusing on “working out,” which can be daunting and boring if you get into a rut. Did I mention I have just joined a 40+ women’s soccer team? All of this since March of this year, when I decided to start really training for the Trek Across Maine.

I’m very excited to get my life on track physically, mentally, spiritually and to look and feel amazing as a result, and I’m looking forward to doing it with the support of—and supporting—these fine ladies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mamavation

  1. Shannon says:

    Wow! You really do live a active lifestyle! Good for you for wanting to get healthy and fit. The Sistahood is a great group of supportive ladies. I look forward to getting to know you better and reading your blog!
    Shannon
    @trulove821

  2. gretablau says:

    Thanks for your comment, Shannon!
    This is all relatively new to me. I found that I have to be training for something in order to keep motivated. It’s a struggle at times, but I really do love to exercise, so that helps a lot! Looking forward to getting to know you too! You can subscribe on the upper right if you would like to!

    Greta

  3. It will be great to have you in the Sistahood! I’m not into the sorority thing either, but this is a great group of moms who love to support and encourage each other. I’m looking forward to cheering you on for the 5k and the dualthon!

  4. gretablau says:

    Thanks, Heather! I’m here for you too. Haven’t been approved yet by @bookieboo, but once I am I’ll post my blog etc. Looking forward to getting to know you.

  5. Andrea H says:

    Welcome to the Sistahood! I already enjoy tweeting with you so I know you’ll be a fab addition to this great group of ladies =)

  6. jimma says:

    I love that photo of you.

Leave a Reply

