Mamavation Monday October 25, 2010

Positive Positive Positive
Hello there. I was going to start this with what I have NOT done, but deleted that and will say what I HAVE accomplished this week.

  • I have not eaten sugar since Friday! In solidarity with the Mamavation Moms, Rachel (@rachelsteffen) and Shelley (@Momma_oz), I will be sugar free until early December. Yes, I will be sugar free through Halloween AND Thanksgiving!! Madness, I tell you!
  • I have made plans to workout with a friend two mornings a week, starting tomorrow. I feel good about having a workout partner on these days because it will help me stay accountable and drag my ass out of bed at 6 AM on Mondays and Thursdays!
  • I’m also going to try Zumba with my neighbor. I doubt I’m coordinated enough, but I’ll try anything once!
  • I was going to buy a Wii, but have decided that I will buy a bike trainer for my bike, the kind you can hook up on your regular bike to ride it as a stationary bike inside. I need to ride and I want to keep my waist whittled down.

I am not going to focus on what I haven’t done this week. I beat myself up enough during the week and feel like what is the point of “telling on” myself. Here’s what I’m planning for this week:

  • I am going to attempt to meal plan for at least 5 days this week. I’m hoping my fit friends—Shelley (@Momma_oz), Gail (@its_gail) and Laila (@OnlyLaila)—will maybe join me in this? Let’s exchange our plans with each other and maybe we’ll all get some new ideas.
  • I will meet my friend for workouts 2 mornings this week.
  • I will continue to eat sugar free.
  • I will try the Zumba class with my neighbor.
  • I will bring my mountain bike in to be tuned up at the bike shop so I can use it with the new trainer, which I will either order online or buy somewhere this week.
  • Finish watching the Pete Cohen TV videos and get my 21-day groove on.
  • Find a trail to mountain bike on!!

I NEED exercise in order not to be a total bitch and miserable inside my own skin. I just need to do it. Thanks again to Leah (@bookieboo) for reminding me of this. Her video about exercise is both for those of us who hate exercise and those of us who love it. (I love it, for the record and desperately need to get back to it.)

Sista of the Week
Congratulations to April (@GAFlygirl) for Sister of the Week! She is kicking exercise butt! Very proud of her!

Mamavation TV
This week I really really want the Mamavation TV prize, which is sponsored by Subway, a $50 LuluLemon gift certificate, a green Gaiam gym bag & yoga mat! Lululemon and Gaiam have really cute, high-quality exercise gear, but it’s pretty expensive, so I’d be happy to be able to buy something from them! The giveaway is part of Subway’s new campaign called Commit to Fit. Jared from Subway is recommitting to fitness by running the NY Marathon this year! I’ll so be watching to see how he and Meb, the winner from last year do! The guy Meb is up against is the fastest marathoner in the WORLD!!!

While I’ve Got You Here!
Check out my giveaways posts so you can see what I’ve entered to win and what you can also enter, and remember that you can win Commenter of the Week each week for commenting on your Sista’s posts. You don’t have to comment on all of them, but just leave comments that are meaningful in some way. This isn’t to say that the “way to goes” are not appreciated too!

Speaking of Commenter of the Week, I am very very happy to announce that this week’s commenter of the week, and winner of a 20-minute session with the wonderful Pete Cohen is………Kia (@bodhi_bear) from BodhiBear. Kia’s comments are always very helpful, sweet and she clearly cares. Congrat, Kia!!

And, in case you didn’t know, I am giving away a “I am my own superhero” t-shirt from MizFitOnline.com. Here’s a picture. She told me this is the one and only time she is giving one away! I’m so honored!

Carla aka MizFitOnline

Lastly, if you have any foods that you’d like for me to feature in my “What’s In It? Wednesdays post, I’m taking suggestions! My Diet Coke post got the most hits ever on my site! Pretty cool.

This entry was posted in Mamavation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Mamavation Monday October 25, 2010

  1. You have a great game plan… and awesome strategies in place! You are amazing! :) I totally want that MizFit tank :P (off to enter…)

  2. Yay Kia!!

    Girl, I wish I lived closer, I freaking LOVE Zumba and I know you will too, and who cares about coordination, just move! It is so fun! Once again, I commend you on turning down that blasted cupcake! You are AWESOME! <3

  3. krismoconnor says:

    Very good plan! Are we on a similar biking plan???? Or are you an animal? I really want to get better (and anything is better LOL) cuz it’s so lovely out there and I’d like to enjoy the scenery and it’s something my BF (aka bike coach) and I can do together.

    But I have a lot to learn – just as a frame of reference – I’m technically not a beginner. The proper assignment of my skill level is “greenhorn” **smiles proudly**.

    2 months ago, I couldn’t steer or stop and yesterday we did a 2.5 hr ride on a dirt trail with gullies, cobbles, sand, hills, and a smidge of single track. Yes it was all greenhornish – but I tried EVERYTHING, I didn’t say “No I can’t”, and was quite proud (hungry, tired, starved actually… but proud).

    Food plan???? Lemme think about that and I’ll keep you posted! Thanks again for sharing!

  4. Laila says:

    I appreciate that you aren’t focusing on what you haven’t done. I really get caught up on that and it serves no purpose. I’m also excited about menu planning for 5 days. I am IN! Zumba is a lot of fun, when I belonged to a gym it was one my favorite workouts.

    best of luck to you on your goals this week!

  5. I love the menu idea…plus if you share with the other 3 fit friends you’ll almost have the whole month! Awesome!!!
    Love the positive, I am still trying to admit the negatives so I can focus on those positives. (learning a lesson here, thanks)

  6. Erin Patrick says:

    That is so cool that you have a work out buddy!! We haven’t lived in our town too long and don’t know that many people, so I work out alone.
    I am trying to do no sugar also. One time I went 6 weeks without sugar or processed carbs and I felt awesome. I just need the motivation to do it again!
    Good luck!

  7. Meal planning — I’m in! Things work out much better for me if I know what I’m eating before I actually eat it. I already know that I’m making the mystery fish I bought today for dinner Monday night. (Anybody know what kingklip tastes like?)

    … OMG, I just Googled it — it looks like an eel!

    Zumba is incredibly fun and you’ll burn twice the calories laughing at yourself in the mirror — at least that’s what I do.

    (And BTW, I have that Gaiam green gym bag and it is super cute.)

  8. Shelley says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE YOU!!! still fine tuning my meal plan – taking a bit longer as I clear out the pantry and freezer to use what we’ve got before buying new… should have that to you shortly.

    As for What’s in it? in honor of halloween, perhaps a Haloween candy? Candy corn? Caramel Apples? Reeses Pieces? (BTW – Reeses have carnuba wax in them…. just sayin)

    You are gonna LOVE zumba – just don’t take yourself seriously and have FUN!!!! HUGS to you!!!

  9. Owen's Mom says:

    Wow! That is a fabulous game plan. I am so impressed that you are doing the sugar free challenge. I wish you the best and hope your holiday meals go smoothly. I bet they will be yummy… sugar or not!

  10. anna c says:

    hooray for positivity! (and those michelle obama arms that mizfitonline has!) i’ve never tried zumba and have always wanted to. *jealous* have a great week~

  11. Danise says:

    I love your positive take on this post! so much better to focus on positive things! Wow No sugar… that’s a big one!
    I tried Zumba a few weeks ago… had a blast! You will love it!
    Thanks for always being such a great encourager! You are awesome and you will reach all your goals this week… I just know it!

  12. kia says:

    Have an awesome time with your bike trainer! I have one (I bought when I was training for an endurance event before the car accident and I used a bit in my pregnancy too) and the best is finding videos to ride with if you use it in a room with a tv monitor. You sound like you are setting yourself up with a number of accountability partners there, which is awesome.

    Thanks for commenter of the week status. I comment but never expect folks to comment in return. I know that is an issue some ladies get annoyed with that you can comment on every post but only get a handful in return. I don’t do it for reciprocation, I feel motivated by what everyone is doing. Comments are a way to thank people for that.

  13. Lena says:

    Great Game plan! You commitment is awesome. And “You Go Girl!” on the sugar. I have been generally sugar free for few years now and do not miss it at all. Stay Positive!!!

    Thank You for the advice on my post! I really want to make a picture of myself on the bike and use that one instead of the one where I hide behind my kids

  14. I love how you’re so organized with your goals. I kinda set mine last minute, and I think that’s why a lot of them are just as well executed… they’re not very planned out.

    You go with the whole “no sugar” thing! It’s awesome. We’ve been sugarless for a while now, and it really is a great thing.

    I hope you have a great week!

  15. Lena says:

    BTW my name on twitter @elenka29

  16. amanda says:

    Awesome job this week! My husband has a bike trainer and he loves it! I prefer to ride/run outside where the scenery changes.

    I need to enter to win that tank…

    Have a good week!

  17. I soooooo want a bike trainer for the winter. I want to get on my bike and start cross training! What a great tool!
    Exercise buddies are the B-E-S-T!! Best way to stay accountable! I bet those days you’re up early will be your best days of the week (once you’re out of bed and have stopped cursing being up before the sun ;) ). You’ll be so energized!

  18. MrsFatass says:

    Good for you not focusing on the negatives. Especially since you had such great positives! Looks like you have a really sound plan in place, sistah.

  19. Carrie Symes says:

    I think I may have to start with positives as well. I keep getting myself down, so I need to get myself up!!! You need to post your meal plans!! I need some really great ideas especially for dinners, thats the one that is the hadest! Thanks so much for entering the giveaways!!

  20. Doood, you got Carla’s shirts….I don’t even have Carla’s shirts. How did you get yourself on that VIP list? LOL

  21. tlpunlimited says:

    Wow… what a game plan… and congrats on no sugar! It’s been my hardest thing to get rid of…. but it’s so worth it!

    As for meal planning I started doing that about 3 months ago and it’s been so much cheaper and easier to fix meals! There’s some great tools out there for this to help you out, even full grocery lists with individual items on them!

    Good luck!

  22. Carrie says:

    Great plan. I have to look into that bike trainer, that might work around here. Thanks for your comment on my blog, too. Have a great week.

  23. Good for you for focusing on the positive! I think the trainer for the bike will be a good investment for you. I still want to get a Wii, but I had to buy running pants since it’s getting cold! (Not that my running pants were as expensive as a Wii, but that whole saving-before-buying thing, ya know?)

    Love your plan for the week – Kick it, girl!

  24. pauline says:

    wahoo! yay for being positive! I know how hard it is to not focus on the negative. also? add me to your no sugar list. I am clean eating and haven’t had processed sugar for over 2 months now. I am only doing maple syrup and occasional honey. no excuses for the halloween candy bowl. ;)
    good luck!

  25. lorrie says:

    thanks for being so positive, how exactly do you go sugar free ? what about the foods that you eat that are healthy in some ways but do have some sugar in them. good luck with your workouts i love my stationary bike .

    • krismoconnor says:

      Lorrie – I just caught your comment and it caught my eye! Sugar? Are we talking sugar cookies? Or yogurt w sugar? Or bananas? Disclaimer – I am not a pro in anything but irrigation management, so anything I say is just my opinion and based on my experience. The whole “sugar” thing has been very interesting to me. I had spent a while eating “clean” (fruits, vegetables, proteins, non- “white flour” carbs, healthy low sugar cereals) and was feeling really great about it. I was working out a lot, eating reasonable portions, eating breakfast, drinking water, etc… And yes, I was definitely eating MUCH better than I was before – so it was huge progress! But I couldn’t figure out why I wasn’t seeing results in inches or pounds. (Because I WAS a couch potato!) And I had a funny feeling it had to do with the sugar from healthy foods.

      From what I gather, just about everything turns into sugar when we eat it, even if it’s healthy. So I started paying attention to the types of food that do that quickly and in high amounts. And I learned that a lot of the healthy foods I was eating do that.

      I made a couple of changes – cut out bananas, “healthy” baked stuff, yogurts w sugar, potatoes and other stuff and watched my proportions of protein, carbs, veggies (high on the veggies/protein, low on the carbs) and stuff started to change for me. I subbed berries, melons & apples for some of the other fruit and quinoa for different grains. Again, I’m not a pro, but I think for my body and however it metabolizes the stuff I eat, the “healthy” sugar was something for me to pay attention to.

      • lorrie says:

        shoot there goes my muffins i usually get a banna muffin at the coffee shop once a week and gotta find new yogurts too

  26. I really could never completely give up sugar but it’s a good thought. I just think eliminating anything from your diet makes you want it MORE.

  27. That is really awesome that you are cutting out sugar too. Is that just processed sugar or any kind of sweetener at all? I don’t think I could live without my agave syrup and honey! Let me know how you like Zumba, I’m curious!

Leave a Reply

